India News

Goa Election 2022: Raut reacts after Manohar Parrikar’s son resigns from BJP, says ‘fight in Panaji between dishonesty and character’

Sanjay Raut&nbsp

New Delhi: A day after Utpal Parrikar, son of former CM Manohar Parrikar, resigned from the primary membership of BJP and announced his decision to contest the February 14 Assembly elections in the state from Panaji as independent, Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut welcomed his decision.

Talking to news agency ANI, Raut said that now the fight in Panaji will be between dishonesty and character.

Earlier, Raut had urged all non-BJP parties including AAP, Congress, TMC and Goa Forward Party to support Utpal’s candidature and not field a candidate against him if he announces his plan to contest polls.

Utpal wanted to contest from the Panaji seat – which Manohar Parrikar had represented for over two decades – but the BJP snubbed him and fielded Congress party turncoat Atanasio Monserrate from the high-profile seat.

In his resignation letter to the BJP, Utpal said he was left with no other choice and called his resignation a formality.

It is a difficult choice for me, I am doing it for the people of Goa but the BJP will always remain in my heart, he said.

He also said that the saffron party had offered him other constituencies other than Panaji.

“I am fighting for the values which I believe in. Let the people of Panaji decide. I cannot negotiate with my party,” he added.

Besides Shiv Sena, AAP had also backed Utpal with AAP national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal offering him a ticket from his party.

Taking to Twitter, Kejriwal slammed BJP and said they have adopted a “use and throw policy” even with the Parrikar family therefore AAP offered to Utpal to join and fight elections on the AAP ticket.

“Goans feel very sad that BJP has adopted use and throw policy even with the Parrikar family. I have always respected Manohar Parrikar. Utpal is welcome to join and fight elections on the AAP ticket,” he tweeted.

Goa will go to the assembly polls on February 14. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *