India News

BJP parliamentary party to meet today, all Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha MPs asked to be present

Photo : ANINew Delhi: Amid the Budget Session of Parliament, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Parliamentary Party is set to meet today. According to reports quoting sources, the party has asked all its Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha MPs to be present for the same. The second half of the Budget session began on Monday and is set to conclude on April 8.The party is likely to review its performance in the recently concluded Assembly elections today. Earlier reports had also indicated the possibility of Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing the party at the BJP headquarters during the meeting. The BJP had previously held a parliamentary party meeting in December last year, during the Winter Session. The development also comes mere days after the party won the assembly elections in four states. According to reports, four Union ministers, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, will go into a huddle with the newly elected MLAs over government formation in Uttar Pradesh, and pick the new chief ministers in Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa. While none of the new administrations have taken oath so far, reports suggest that the ceremony is likely to occur after Holi. The BJP deputed Shah as observer to Uttar Pradesh, where Yogi Adityanath powered the party to an impressive victory and where there are no hurdles in the way of the priest-politician’s second stint in power.Defence Minister Rajnath Singh has been appointed the observer for Uttarkhand, while Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar will supervise the selection of the leader of the BJP legislature parties in Manipur and Goa.The leaders are expected to visit the states assigned to them in the next few days.While it is all set that Yogi Adityanath will again be elected as the legislative leader in Uttar Pradesh, the party has to take call on deputy chief ministers in the state. Keshav Prasad Maurya – one of the two deputies in the previous government – had lost the recent elections along with 11 ministers. In Uttarakhand meanwhile, it remains unclear who will lead the government in the state as chief minister Pushkar Dhami lost the election.Related NewsParliament Budget Session: PM Narendra Modi welcomed in Lok Sabha with chants of ‘Modi, Modi’ – VIDEO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *